Happy Friendship Day πŸ˜‘

I don’t know why I wrote this. πŸ˜‚

See, I have no problem with people celebrating fancy days – it’s their constitutional right, as is uploading dog-filtered photos on social media. But I too have a constitutional right – to not participate in this circus. It has nothing to do with nationalism or whatever, for I don’t celebrate Holi or Eid either. It’s just that, as a person, I don’t like celebrating festivals or events. Except for Diwali. Because it’s much more than a festival – it’s a metaphor, it’s a poem, it’s blinking lights under dark sky. I mean don’t you see!

So it was a pretty tough morning when all of my social media apps went crazy. My phone went on a buzzing spree and I felt an urgent desire to bid farewell to the wordly pleasures and start for Himalayas. There, I’d don saffron and sit for penace. Then, I’d be distracted by a heavenly angel and we’d end up exploring each other inside those caves. How amazing! 

Happy Friendship Day – the photo said in fancy fonts. These people didn’t even care to write a message, they just forwarded the whole goddam photo which had been doing rounds from one person to the other. I imagined them clicking share on their screen and choosing select all when it displayed the contacts. It made me madder. So, how much do you mean it when you send me that photo or GIF? Do you even give a fuck about me for the rest of the 364 days? 

So I did the same. I typed the text same to you and then pasted it everywhere. That was all. 

7 thoughts on “Happy Friendship Day πŸ˜‘

Leave a Reply

